Chakras – what is all the fuzz about?

It does not matter if you know what it is or not; either if you are a believer, we all heard about Chakras at some moment in our lives.

That is because it is a lot of talking about balancing it, controlling, growing, expanding, and influencing different aspects of our lives.

But what are chakras?

According to the teachings of Farrah Furtado,” Chakra means “Wheel” or Vortex are psychic centers.”

For most modern practitioners, there are a total of 7 chakras. Still, some ancients believed that there is another one, to be considered the Bindu chakra.

From down to up, representing how energy moves, merging one on another until it reaches the divine, let’s see each Chakra.


Mooladhara – Root Chakra

Located on the perineum floor, here is where the three main Nadis (Ida, Pingala, and Sushumna) meet. Its color is red, the geometrical form is the upside-down triangle representing how energy moves, and the square represents the element Earth. Here lies the survival instinct, greed, patience. When imbalanced, the person can present a lack of trust in themself and others, no self-confidence.

Swadhisthana – Sacrum

Located in the genital area, represented by the color orange and the geometrical shape of a circle. Which means the eath dissolving into the water element of this Chakra. Here lie our sexual desires, procreation, inspiration, family creation, and fantasies. Traumas and imbalance might affect sex-driven disorders, challenging to express your self, and feel motivated.

Manipura – Solar Plexus

Manipura holds our fire, our life force. Its color is yellow; the geometrical symbol is a downward red triangle inside of a circle. This Chakra is responsible for our self-esteem, the power to take action, motivation, will, and ambition. When imbalanced can result in a lack of self-esteem, stagnation, distress.

Anahata Chakra – Heart


This Chakra is located in the heart area, in the spinal; its color is green. The upward triangle represents Shiva – the male force, and the downward triangle represents Shakti – the female energy. It takes care of all the organs in that area, heart, lungs, circulatory system, and cardiac plexus. When balanced, we do not care about futile and momentaneous pleasure; we do not care about possessions, what others think about us, and harmony between the male and female forces. The imbalance of this Chakra reflects health issues on the organs related to the circulatory system, may also bring psychological problems, such as depression, lack of empathy, and more.


Vishuddi Chakra – Throat

Vishuddi Chakra is located at the throat level; its color is blue, the geometrical symbol represents the moon, pure cosmic sound, and purification. It controls the sound and is responsible for the sense of hearing. Our psychic and communication skills are held in this Chakra, when imbalanced results in sore throat, earaches, sinus inflammations, and other related issues. Here all the elements of the lower chakras meet and are refined and dissolved.


Ajna Chakra – Third eye

The third eye chakra is represented by the purple color; it represents wisdom. Here our inner vision and higher consciousness meet, revealing the insight of the future. After the three main nadis -Ida, Pingala, and Sushumna separate at the Mooladhara chakra intertwining up through the other chakras, it will become one again here, at the Ajna chakra. It all becomes one and elevating us to know the past, present, and future. When imbalance, it makes us feel lost in life, unable to let go of the past, fearing the end, vision issues, sciatica, migraines, and even seizures.

Sahasrara Chakra – Crown

Sahasrara is the terminal point of Sushumna, here Kundalini Shakti and Shiva merge. When this is achieved, we can experience the union of our soul with the divine.

Its color is violet, but also some traditions associates it with white and gold color.

Here all human desires and mundane emotions are dissolved, with no dualities, but the truth, peace, calmness, and divinity experiences in the human body.

After this brief introduction to the Chakras, did you found a connection with it? How it influences your life, and why is it essential that we take care of it daily?

P.S.: All the knowledge shared here was based on my learnings, practices, and as well to L. Farrah Furtado, and @benditlikebudha team, which I have been studying and following lately.


Please follow and like us: